Autopilot disconnect sound in 1.024

2»

Comments

• @aua668 Thanks! I am not all that unfamiliar with scripting or XML, although I am no expert. I will definitely look in to this. However, with my AFCS_FSX_SYNC parameter set at 0, my joystick's fire button does already toggle the autopilot ... so it is just the disconnect sound that I need. I need to map a sound to the event. I have read a thread on the Internet somewhere about how to do that, so I'll have to do a search. Although, until I investigate that more, I am not sure that is even going to work as the sound may fire in other aircraft when I press my joystick's fire button. Of course, if I could map the sound to a Q400 variable such as APDisOff, then that could work. Hmmm.

• edited February 2022

I have made an attempt at some scripting, and also at mapping the aural autopilot disconnect tone sound to pulling the fire button on my joystick to disengage the Q400 autopilot. I struggled a bit and had limited success. I'll spare the details here.

I think my best course of action is to leave the AFCS_FSX_SYNC parameter set at 0 in my ini file (thankyou @aua668 for that suggestion) along with J2_b0=AFCS_->inputs.AP_disengage. This means my joystick's fire button will disconnect the autopilot and I will hear the aural tone. And, it also means there is no possible conflict with my setup having autopilot disconnect commands mapped within P3D itself.