Major Flight Control Problem, No Ailerons

I am a long time pilot of the MJC Dash 8, this is a new problem. I recently upgraded to P3DV5, and the sim functioned ok. Then, after a time period flying other AC, I returned to the MCJ, and after loading ok, the ailerons disconnect from my yoke. The steering still works ok. My steering mode control is ailerons + mouse.
I tried a complete uninstall of the program and no help. Any advice most appreciated.

Comments

• OK OK, how long have I been flying this bird and never figured out the gust lock disables the ailerons!

• The manuals do offer some useful information, take some time and have a browse though them.

Cheers

• edited December 2020

Tundrabum You are not wrong. Something HAS changed recently but when is unclear, I also had an extended time away from the Dash8. I distinctly remember taxing either with the tiller or the yoke at my discretion with the power control lock definitely engaged.

Now . . . . all of a sudden there is interplay between the power control lock and the Yoke (aileron axis). When the power control lock is engaged, the Yoke is disabled and you must steer with the Tiller? How does a real q400 aircraft operate? When the power control lock is disengaged, then the Yoke is enabled?

The manual reads:
    “Ailerons+Mouse”: Tiller will be linked to the aileron axis below 40kts
    Indicated Airspeed. When selecting this option, do not forget to defer the
    application of the ailerons on takeoff and landings (especially for crosswind
    compensation).

The manual does not mention interplay between the Yoke and the power control lock. Why this change with no clear documentation for us?

So from now on, if I want to steer with the Yoke, I must first disengage the power control lock? If not, then I subject my index finger to carpal tunnel syndrome trying to hold the left mouse down all the way to the runway? This could be up to ten minutes especially at large airports.