NAV - Sources and ILS Approach

Hi

I am new with the Dash-8 and I have some question about the NAV - Sources on a ILS Approach.

As I understand we have waypoits and airways of a route, including the STAR, based on GPS Coordinates, supported sometimes by VORs. This in programmed in the FMC.
When I select as NAV-Source "FMS1" and push NAV it follows the lateral route, additional I can select an Altitude or an VNAV or a VS decent.

The other thing ist the ILS Signal, wich comes from the ground from the "end of the runway", a 3° glide slope. So we can intercept the signal at a specific waypoint and specific altitude.

At a specific point we have to switch from GPS (Waypoint) Navigation to the ground-based ILS Glide-slope.

What I did in the last flights: In the FMC I "ARMED the APR" while I decent with VNAV and 1-2 miles before the "ILS Interception point" I changed the NAV Source with the knob from "FMS1" to "ILS1" and press APPROACH, then the plane start the decent along the glide path. I deactivated the Autopilot at 600 ft and landed by manualy. Fine.

But is this the right way to do?

Is there a good tutorial for this phase of the flight?

Because the tutorial flight is a little bit confusing...
I could arm the approach mode of the FMS by pressing "ARM APPROACH", but I could not arm the "TUNE APPROACH"
on the NAV page?

from the tutorial:
Arrival
Descend: After passing the TOD, reduce PL to maintain 240kts. Switch on passenger signs, set decision altitude (DA) (set 60ft in our case). passing FL100, set the destination airport pressure of 29.97 Inches, select seatbelts to ON and turn on Landing Lights. When passing the HABBS waypoint we will begin our approach preparations:

Propeller and airframe deicing OFF
Standby fuel pumps ON
PTU ON
Auxiliary Fuel Pumps ON
GPWS flaps selector to 15